Skip to content

Fashion’s Night Out

September 12, 2009
Gotta love New York.

Where else can you shop till you drop, all while sipping on free cocktails and downing free food? This week kicks off the beginning of Fashion Week and it is preluded with Fashion’s Night Out, a city wide ‘trick or treat’ style event where stores stay open late to promote their clothes and lure customers with free goodies. Knowing how much of a fashionista (and sucker for free things) I am, Courtney and I hit the streets yesterday for a night of catwalking, drinking, and cupcaking. We mapped out our adventure and headed to the Village.
First stop was Purple Lab where we indulged in lychee martinis. I’ve never had a lychee before and I must say, it tastes delicious when it’s soaked in top-shelf vodka. The bartender was a cutie with a British accent, which I’m sure every girl is a sucker for. A little flirting goes a long way, as Ms. Love and I found ourselves with another free round.
Stop two was Paige denim. While their jeans were cute, they were a bit too pricey for us gals, so instead we opted for the free cupcakes and ‘Paige lemonade’ martinis. The martinis were okay, but after the top-shelf lychees, we were too spoiled to appreciate them as much. The cupcakes, however, were to die for! We each snagged two…

By the time we left Paige the party was in full swing. Yellow cabs were crowding the streets and beautiful people were crowding the sidewalks and stores; I saw a lot of red-soled stilettos, indicative of the recognizable Christian Louboutin.

*Sigh* One day I will own a pair of you, Lou.

Anyway, Court and I took in the sights and made our way down a couple blocks, deeper into the Village. There were people bbqing corn outside of Tory Burch and for that reason alone we stopped and made our way inside. Talk about crowded- one would think we were at a nightclub, rather than a high end designer shop, especially since the store was equipped with a DJ for the night. While we swayed to the music and took in the scene, a server (as if on cue) appeared and offered us a couple of pony-neck bottles of Corona. I personally don’t drink beer, but who was I to refuse him. Besides, he looked like a walking Abercrombie & Fitch ad… yum!

Participating in the events made my love for fashion even more intense. Hugo Boss, Diane Von Furstenberg, Betsey Johnson- I felt like a kid in a designer candy store. I made a promise to myself last night that one day I will be inside the famous white tents at Bryant Park, and I will be sitting front row… right next to Anna Wintour. Until then, I’ll just keep taking full advantage of Fashion’s Night Out and the freebies for all the Coach-toting, Louboutin-loving, fashion magazine-reading fashionistas like myself.
Cheers to that!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

