Skip to content

Where Is My Cool?

September 1, 2009

Today’s post comes easily- it’s about keeping your cool and losing your cool.

Can you guess which one I chose today?

Let me give you a hint: it wasn’t keeping my cool.

Today was the first day of my Craft I class, which, in essence, is a writing/reporting class that is double the credit amount and can dictate whether or not you remain the in the program. Get a C and they’ll give your ass the boot. Even though it’s an ALL day class (literally 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.) I can honestly say I did not see today’s events coming. To be honest, everything started off fine. I asked questions, I was alert and attentive, and I even make a few (albeit corny) quips that made the class laugh – every teachers dream.

Fast forward to the in class assignment: write a 300 word bio about your partner. Simple, right? Right… unless, of course, you’re me.

The interview portion was a breeze. We chatted, I asked questions, nodded my head, and asked more questions. This will be a cakewalk, I thought. Then, as soon as I sat in front of my computer to begin writing, I blanked. Blanked is probably too polite of an adjective- I bombed. We’re talking nuclear missile, mass chaos, atomic fiasco bomb.

Shit!

On top of that, it didn’t help that everyone in the class decided to take it upon themselves to remind me of the ticking time restraint. Thanks people, as if I don’t already have enough riding on this… like the fact that with 10 minutes left I’m only up to 50 of the 300 word word requirement.

So, to make an overdramatic story short, I cracked under pressure and literally turned in a half-ass article because I barely made it past 150 words when the deadline hit. Fabulous.

I understand that as journalists it’s part of the job to bang out a story under tight deadline, to not fold under pressure, and most of all, to keep a cool composure in said situations. But, I apparently like to learn things through the trial and error method: I try, I make a huge error, and learn not to do it again.

I definitely learned what not to do, but does that necessarily mean that I’ll never do it again or that it will never happen? I’m no psychic and I can only hope for the best. But tell you this, I won’t be holding my breath about it any time soon.
4 Comments leave one →
  1. Sonja permalink
    September 2, 2009 6:20 PM

    What partner were they asking you to write about? You just need to relax. You can do this. If you can write 300 words in your blog without even thinking about it, you can bang out any assignment they throw at you. Don't let them see you sweat:)!!!

  2. Uncle Chuck 9/2/09 permalink
    September 3, 2009 2:37 PM

    Good morning, Sweetheart its been a long time since we last chatted. So, this is your newest project, I like. Keep it up to be a Journalist writing about something should always come easy, what to write about is the hard part. Stay focused, love you. My birthday is September 10. A couple soft pretezels would be a nice gift.Uncle Chuck

  3. Anonymous permalink
    September 3, 2009 11:18 PM

    too lenghty, more concise. Like you've said in a previous blog "sometimes less in more"…i think that might also be the solution to your assignment fiasco, if you had a concise 150 words you can atleast argue that 300 wasn't necessary

  4. spencerella permalink
    September 4, 2009 3:33 AM

    Thank you all for the moral support! Knowing that there are people who read and pay attention to my words really keep me inspired. Even though it's only been a few weeks, I can tell that New York will have its influence on me. Hopefully enough to keep me telling stories that leave you entertained. xoxoSpencer

Leave a Reply

