Skip to content

Silver Spoons & Chopsticks

August 22, 2009

Day 2 in the city is brought to you from Herald Square. You know, where the world’s largest Macy’s lives and is famous for its store windows in the winter? Yep, that’s the one. Even though it’s located on 34th st. between 6th and 7th ave., Herald Square technically expands all the way from Times Square (42nd st) to Madison Square (23rd). What I didn’t realize, however, was that it also borders 32nd st., which is also considered Koreatown.

I’ve had my share of Asian cuisine- from lo mein (Chinese), to sushi (Japanese), to pancit (Filipino), but surprisingly I’ve never had Korean food. So, being the foodie that I am, I just had to give it a try. I arrived at a restaurant advertising “Korean BBQ” just in time for the lunch special. In addition to my main course I was also given six appetizers plus miso soup. Among the appetizers were pieces of fish, bean sprouts, egg salad, and a type of spicy meat. While they weren’t all my favorite, I did especially enjoy the bean sprouts, and you can never go wrong with miso soup. The main course (brown rice with chicken and vegetables) was decent, but I think I’ll stick with my spicy Thai rice. All in all, though, it was a new and enjoyable experience. I will say, however, that my favorite part of it all was using silver chopsticks; A definite (and posh) step up from the basic, wooden ones. I wasn’t born with a silver spoon in my mouth, but I did get the honor of putting silver chopsticks in my mouth today. Let’s hope it didn’t spoil me…

PS- Did I mention that afterward I made a quick stop into Pinkberry, which another location just happened to be right across the street? Oops.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

