Skip to content

Dear New York,

August 19, 2009

It’s been four days since we’ve come together and I can say it looks like the beginning of a great friendship.

My new address is in Brooklyn and exploring the neighborhood the last few days made me feel as if I’m in a different country. Coming from somewhere as lush as Georgia, it takes some getting used to that you don’t have as many trees as I’m accustomed to. That’s okay though, because you’ve made it up to me with a wonderful corner market called Florence. Who knew such a small and quaint grocery store could excite me as much as Florence has. I can already tell that it will become a regular haunt of mine.
After days of hauling my things up and down a narrow staircase and putting furniture together, I can honestly say that my attic apartment finally feels like Home. Plus, having a new window air-conditioning unit doesn’t hurt, either. In fact, I would probably die without it. Oh New York, why didn’t you tell me that you don’t have central air?

So much has happened over the last week that I almost forgot that I came to you for school. Orientation and classes start next week, so I still have a few days to get acclimated before my days become filled with deadlines and red-pen edits.

Until then, I will continue to get to know you better. I hope that one day we can become great friends and that our friendship could maybe even someday turn into a love affair.

Sincerely,

Spencer
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

